1 Year Blogiversary

What better way to celebrate one year, than by wearing my favourite vintage piece, and a new pair of shoes! I bought this coat a long time ago, and each year when the weather turns cold, I look forward to wearing it. I love the colour, and the detailing. The puffed sleeves are perfection, and the subtle stitching detail at the collar is what’s missing from all the massed-produced clothing so many of us rely on. I love that the sleeves can stop my handbag from slipping off my shoulder, even if they are just a tad too short. I love how warm and thick the wool felt is.

The boots, are a recent purchase (from Spartoo), and I love them. They are so comfortable, and the heel isn’t all that high. I have a feeling they will be getting a lot of use over the winter.

One year ago when I started this blog, I was uninspired by my wardrobe and a had lack of confidence. I was easily intimidated by the stereotyped Parisian woman, and I avoided clothes shopping (this was really against my nature). After all what was the point if I couldn’t buy anything. I never imagined I would post photos of myself online (that was for the top, model-esque bloggers). And it took some time for me to find my voice, even if I loved writing my posts from the get-go.

Now I accept the contents of that wardrobe. It has grown somewhat over the past twelve months, and some of the more popular outfits I have put together have been conjured up from the depths of my wardrobe. Writing fashiondevotion has increased my confidence, and shopping is a must. Even if I can’t buy something very often, it’s a great source of inspiration. I still have moments, where I stare into my wardrobe in near despair, and when I worry about posting photos of myself. But for the most part, this blog has helped me grow. It has motivated me, which was my reason for starting it in the first place. Fashiondevotion might have changed direction from where I had thought it might have gone, but it has evolved, and I’m happy with where it is going.

Quelle meilleur façon de fêter l’anniversaire de mon blog que de porter ma pièce vintage préférée, et mes nouvelles bottes. Cela fait assez longtemps que j’ai acheté ce manteau. Chaque année, j’attends le temps froid pour le porter. J’adore sa couleur, et ses détails. Les manches sont parfaites, et le détail subtilecousu au cou, est typiquement ce qui manque sur les vêtements produits en masse d’aujourd’hui.

J’ai récemment acheté ces bottes (Spartoo), et je les adore. Elles sont très confortables, et les talons ne sont pas très haut. Je pense les porter beaucoup cet hiver.

Il y a un an que j’ai commencé ce blog, je n’étais pas vraiment inspiré par ma garde-robe, et en plus je manquais de confiance en moi. J’étais facilement intimidée par les femmes Parisiennes “stéréotypiques”, et j’ai evité de faire du shopping (ce qui va contre ma nature). Après tout, si je ne pouvais pas acheter des vêtements, quel était l’intêret. Je n’avais jamais imaginé poster des photos de moi sur internet (c’etait reservé aux top blogueuses qui semblent être des manequins). Cela m’a donc pris un peu de temps avant de trouver ma voie, même si j’ai adoré écrire mes articles depuis le début.

Maintenant, j’accepte le contenu de ma garde-robe. Elle s’est agrandie un peu durant cette dernière année, et quelques fois mes tenues les plus populaires sont composées d’anciens vêtements. Ma confiance en moi s’est développée au fur et à mesure que j’écris sur fashiondevotion, et je vais faire du shopping beaucoup plus souvent. Même si je ne peux pas toujours acheter ce que je veux, c’est une bonne source d’inspiration. Il y a encore des moments où je suis triste quand je regarde ma garde-robe, ce qui m’inquiète un peu lorsque je poste mes photos. Mais plus généralement, ce blog m’a aidé à grandir. Il m’a motivé, et dès le départ cela était la raison principale pour sa création. Fashiondevotion a peut-être changé de direction depuis mon idée initiale, mais il a évolué, et je suis contente de la direction qu’il prend.

Coat/Manteau – Vintage

Jeans/Jean – Meltin’ Pot

Boots/Bottes – Pedro Miralles

~ by fashiondevotion on October 26, 2010.

50 Responses to “1 Year Blogiversary”

  1. Happy Birthday to your blog Natasha!!
    your boots are nice
    follow us if you want🙂

    xx
    lookofstyle.blogspot.com

  2. time to send you some new meltin’pots :=)

  3. Happy 1 year of blogging! I found myslef in all that you wrote… Yes, blogging helps us a lot, to have courage to try new and edgy combinations, to dress a bit different from the others… Congrats! You are a real source of inspiration!

  4. YAYY! Happy blogiversary!!!
    I love the coat😀
    http://aclosetfashionista.blogspot.com/

  5. congratulations on the 1 year mark🙂

    http://www.benchesandchandeliers.com

  6. Congrats on the 1 year of blogging chickie!🙂 Love the new shoes- must check out this Spartoo site…😉

  7. Congrats!
    I love your coat it’s really pretty!

    http://thefashioninbox.blogspot.com

  8. Congrats! And I love that red coat🙂

    check out our fashion illustrations at http://www.illustrated-moodboard.com/ :)

  9. Love love love your coat!
    you’ve got a new follower🙂
    http://www.fashiondevotion.com

  10. I love your boots ♥
    Bies
    Yu’

  11. Congratulations on the 1 year Tarsh. I’m so in love with your jacket.

  12. Happy Birthday Fashion Devotion! I love this blog so, so much. I find so much inspiration in it and I love how it’s really taken off in the past few months. Hooray!! Xoxo

  13. Hey! Thanks for your comment! Your Blog is really nice! I Like your outfits and you’re really beutiful:)
    Randi, randimara.blogspot.com

  14. That burgundy is a fabulous color on you! Great shoes!
    xx
    http://hotpinkday.blogspot.com/

  15. Happy birthday for your blog! And many more posts to come😀
    The boots are gorgeous, and so is the red coat, you really are cool😀

  16. Love this outfit. The shoes and the coat are awesome.:D

  17. Congrats on your bloggiversary! Beautiful pictures too, your jacket is lovely!

  18. Happy birthday!
    Très jolie tenue.

    Alice.

    NOALICENO.BLOGSPOT.COM

  19. Congratulations, and I feel the same way about my blog, its motivated me and also changed me to be more focused on my future. Kudos dear. http://www.fashionablenotebook.blogspot.com

  20. Congrats!! and i love your booties….

    http://sweetlittleconfessions.blogspot.com/

  21. congrats!
    im loving your earrings & rings here.

  22. Happy blog birthday Natasha!!

    Your ankle boots are stunning!

    xxx
    Vikki

    http://stylometre.blogspt.com

  23. happy one year!
    Love your blog!
    x enter my giveaway?

  24. Then, HAPPY ANNIVERSARY! By the way, love the red coat!

  25. Congrats for the 1 year!!! I am always inspired by you and love where you have come to in your passion and blog! I also love this dress as it brings me back to my childhood as well😉

    xxoo

  26. I love your red coat & those grey booties! I never really see those colors together but they look great (remind me of Renaissance/old times)! congrats on your 1-year anniversary of your blog!
    thanks for visiting my blog sweetie!❤

  27. Happy Bloggiversary!
    It’s a lovely coat, and I love the joyous jumping around photos! It was really interesting, as a blogger of only three months, to read your yearly reflections. I do agree that blogging fosters more creativity, though sadly it seems to foster more consumerism as well, at least in me! Looking forward to getting to know you in the next year!

  28. Happy Blog Birthday! You are so cute and you have a great sense of style! Thanks for the sweet comment…

    http://californiacandy.wordpress.com/

  29. congrats on your 1 yr anniversary!!

    gorgeous pics!

    thanks so much for commenting on my blog!

    keep in touch. xx

    http://www.thefacelessblog.com

  30. Thank you for commenting on my blog you are so beautiful, I too have the same problems that is one of the reason why I started this blog, I use to buy and buy and buy tons of clothes but they all wrong stuff, and now after i cleaned my closet, I filled up with stuff that I can wear over and over again, and also it didnt help knowing that I live in the middle of nowhere where wearing a black tights will get the “look” from everybody.

    Now following❤

    http://reserveradefashion.blogspot.com

  31. Happy one year! Gorgeous shoes!

    Love Grace.

  32. i want to follow you but i can’t find the follow button…
    but i already link your blog so i could catch up your update..hehe =)
    take care natasha…
    btw, happy blogiversary..hehe

    xoxo

  33. I really like your jacket!

    http://vicissitudinilombarde.blogspot.com/

  34. wow! I love that shoes!!! they’re so cool! and that jacket is so nice! great outfit! =)

    xx

  35. CONGRATS HONEY! GOOD JOB!
    Loving your coat, the colour is beautiful!

    LA

  36. Happy birthday to your blog!!
    you look good with this color!!
    hope to see you soon!!

    http://chicneverland.blogspot.com/

  37. congrats on your 1 yr anniversary! such a milestone and it sounds like you’ve not only grown from the experience but have gained a better sense of your personal style (which we love!) speaking of which, this vintage jacket is exceptional and those boots are divine.

  38. Happy Birthday to your blog, and you, of course:) We love your coat! very nice! I love the color! Follow us on Bloglovin if you like:) We follow you
    xoxo

    lookofstyle.blogspot.com

  39. congratulations!!🙂 many more years for your blog! and happy blogging till the nth years to come!❤❤

  40. Adore that deep wine colour!
    happy blogiversary
    x

  41. Congrats on your blog Natasha! You’ve done well keeping it up. I love your boots and coat. Such a gorgeous red

  42. congratulations on the one year! and you look so cute, love your new boots x

    http://pagesixxx.blogspot.com

  43. red coat looks so great on you!
    wish i was that “bold” to use colourful jackets :>

    xx happy anniversary of your blog!
    hyvinkulutettupaiva.blogspot.com

  44. BEAUTIFUL PICTURES! THE OUTFIT IS AMAZING!
    WASHMACH.
    http://www.washmach.com

  45. […] the first, and again, I think it’s worth mentioning (especially considering the feature of my last post) that as I child I really disliked wearing […]

  46. I find your story very nice and interesting, and I think it’s great that blogging allowed you to find a self confidence. I just discovered your blog thanks to your comment on my blog..But I will definitely come back and follow, you seem very down to earth and your pictures are really lovely.

    Marilyn
    xx

  47. Hi there,

    I really like this post!
    I think your blog is amazing.
    Maybe you can pass mine &. we can follow eachother?

    Kind regards, Valerie

  48. happy anniversary and I am waiting for now posts. I also like your red coat

  49. Beautiful jacket!!
    Happy anniversary!

  50. love your style!!!

    ready for 23th of november??? i hope it!!!

    i want to see you in a post with lavins dress hahhaha

    xoxo

    LC

    toonewforshare.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

 
