It’s Not Spring Yet

After what seems an eternity of grey, the blue skies of the past few days are more than welcome. Just seeing the sun lifts my mood, and makes gallivanting about Paris so much more enjoyable. It’s still too early to call this spring (even if it is), as it is still far to cold (in my opinion).

Delighted by the sunshine, and the temperature gage across the street reading 10°C, I made the somewhat silly mistake of going out with one too few layers this afternoon. The walk to the metro station and the ride itself was fine, it was when I found myself outside for longer than five minutes that I started to see the error of my ways.

I’ve been consulting my Paris survival guide Paris Pas Cher 2010 for interesting stores to add to my list of favourites. I was surprised, to say the least, when Stock Chloé appeared in the print. “Um… what’s this?” I thought. “This can’t possibly be right… can it?” I read further, and no, my eyes were not deceiving me. Clearly even designer brands need a place to sell off their leftovers, as this was not the only designer brand listed in the book. The paragraph on the store gave some indication of prices, and while not quite competing with the likes of Zara or Kookaï, there are some big savings.

Before long I found myself on the other side of town, iPhone in hand, Google Maps navigating, and only minutes from the store. Stock Chloé covers two shops fronts, and is filled with promise. A wall of Chloé bags, Chloé shoes, Chloé sunglasses, rack after rack after rack of Chloé goodness at-a-discount. This is what I learnt peering in through the windows, as this is as far as I got. There were signs all over both doors warning that it was for Private Sales, and by Appointment Only.

Noooooo! I felt deflated. Crushed.

How does one get an appointment?… because I-Want-In!

I took advantage of the sunshine and walked. I walked to Les Halles and poked about in a few stores trying to console myself. I marvelled at how, only a week and a half after the release of Sonia Rykiel‘s collection for H&M, it’s like it never was. There is not a trace of it anywhere. Even only a few days after, all I managed to find were some wedged sandals, and one sweater. Gotta be quick in this town.

Petit Bateau Tee, Bershka Singlet, Meltin’Pot Jeans, mixture of rings including vintage and Marc Jacobs, Calvin Klein Watch, Velvet Military Jacket made by myself.

~ by fashiondevotion on March 4, 2010.

One Response to “It’s Not Spring Yet”

  1. Sonia Rykiel’s collection for H&M runs out quickly over here too, haha. I love your jacket🙂

Leave a Reply

 
