Sales on Saturday

After our dinner party on Friday night, the Frog and I were in slow-mode. We awoke to a blue sky (a bit of a shock  to the system), took our time over a spot of breakfast, and decided to go check out the second round of markdowns in the Grands Magasins (big department stores).

As luck would have it, the moment we stepped out of our building, the heavens opened. We dashed across the street to the Metro, miraculously, without too much damage to my well coiffed hair.

Despite the rain, people were out in force. Clearly everyone loves a bargain. All the stores around Paris Opera, were stuffed with people, and Galleries Lafayette was just the same. Ladies were swarming around drastically reduced handbags, men were dutifully handing over credit cards and sales assistants were smiling sweetly. We ploughed through the crowds working our way from floor to floor. It’s amazing how quickly the stock has moved since the new markdowns. The top I saw at the Karen Millen stand on Tuesday has sold out in all sizes.

We spent a bit of time in the Mens Store. Yes, Galleries Lafayette, and Printemps for that matter, have separate stores for menswear. Funnily enough, there were markedly fewer people inside.

We made our way to Printemps. I was keen to see if there was a further markdown on the Maje boots I’d seen before Christmas (the ones I’ve been obsessing about, the ones that are just SO me), so we decided to pay them a visit. Hallelujah! A second reduction made the price so much more reasonable. That gave us something to think about, while we went and looked at some clothes I’ve been interested in at the Sandro stand. More reductions, but a serious lack of anything in my size. We looked at the stands for The Kooples and ba&sh, before deciding to go and actually try the boots.

My heart was pounding as I asked the sales girl for my size. I was so afraid they’d be sold out. They were. But she advised I try on the display pair, as the sizing was a bit large. They were a perfect fit! I felt like a Rock’nRoll Cinderella!

Someone was in a generous mood, and next thing I knew, the Frog was handing over the credit card and I was the proud owner of these beauties.

Ankle Boots by Maje.

Aren’t they beautiful? I am SO happy! I had to take the display pair, so I was lucky to get them. The big surprise came when I tried them on, and discovered that the chain and rivet detail is completely removable, making them extremely versatile. It’s like two-in-one boots!

I am having so much fun planning outfits to wear with these.

~ by fashiondevotion on January 17, 2010.

5 Responses to “Sales on Saturday”

  1. great boots! and practical.

    http://www.daniellebarbe.blogspot.com

  2. Cute!! What outfits have you worn with these since this post? HAHA! Lots I bet!!

    Have a beautiful day!

    XXOO

    • Haha! I’ve been putting them on every few hours just to stare at them! The outfits are mostly in my head at the moment😉

      I’ll probably have to do some more shopping to do them justice😉

  3. OK these are the most fabulous boots ever – I want to be where you are!!!

    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

 
