Five on Friday on the 1st

First of all, I’d like to wish all of you a Happy New Year! I hope all of you enjoyed your celebrations and that 2010 is off to a brilliant start.

For our last afternoon of 2009, we stepped out in snowshoes. Five of us took a walk through the mountains, enjoying the quiet and the beauty of the surroundings. I must say this isn’t one of my favourite things to do in the Alps. I’m not sure what it is. I enjoy physical activities, but this one just seems to pass me by. I thought I’d share with you some pictures so you can see the scenery I’ve been enjoying for the last two weeks.

Hiding Sun

Snow-Capped Peaks

Magical

A Touch of Colour

We celebrated the New Year by eating. The family sat down to a wonderful meal, proceeded by vin chaud (mulled wine). I’d have to say it was my best batch yet. The food just kept coming, and I must say I paced myself well. It caught us all by surprise that we were still seated at the table to ring in 2010, but we were a merry crowd. At some time after 1am we finally got our act together and headed into the town of St Martin de Belleville. Our presence in town was of short duration, mostly since we realised we were all well above the average age of party goers (mostly teens). Yes, we stood around for about fifteen minutes trying to get into the music, and yes, we switched venue to no avail. We were all snuggled under the covers by about half past two.

For the first Five on Friday for 2010, I must admit to a bit of trickery. One of my resolutions for the New Year is to be happier. It sounds simple I know, but it’s been a difficult few years. One thing that has helped me to feel happier is writing this blog, even if it’s only been a few months. So I thought it was only right that I blog today to kick the year off to a good start.

Earlier this week The Frog and I headed to Albertville, for an appointment and after we stopped to collect a few groceries at the Centre Commercial (shopping centre/mall). I made a detour to Mim. I’d actually scoped out Mim the previous week for a Five on Friday, and while I did find something, I left it behind as Friday was Christmas anyway. This week, the shop windows were donned with pink and white posters announcing prices à partir de (starting from) €5. I made the most of it. I’ve actually pre-bought for a few Fridays, seeing as shopping opportunities are rare here, and the holiday is not quite over.

This weeks, Five is a this black faux leather belt which I picked up for the crisis busting price of €4. I do prefer leather, but hey… this belt is cool. The faux leather is actually pretty convincing. Plus, I get the benefit of feeling like a friend to the animals.

Proof of the price

Cool Rivet Detail

I think this belt will really help bring out the “Rocker” in me, and I think it’ll look great with my AA Original Music T-Shirt, that I got for Christmas.

I will be revealing more of my resolutions for 2010 over the next few posts.

~ by fashiondevotion on January 1, 2010.

3 Responses to “Five on Friday on the 1st”

  1. Wow! Those pictures are gorgeous! I’m so jealous! Sounds like you had a wonderful New Years!

    I really like your belt! It will definitely bring out the rocker in you! haha🙂

  2. That mountain pic is beautiful!!! I love snow and walking in the snow…..ahhhh I don’t think we are getting snow here this year😦

    I agree -being happier is a great goal!!

    the belts are super cute!

    XXOO

  3. Thanks for the comment!! I must try this dandelion drink everyone is talking about.

    Maybe it is just easier if I stick to 1 cup a day………i do love it!

    XXOO

Leave a Reply

 
