There Must Be Something Wrong With Me

For almost two weeks now there have been two pairs of shoes constantly on my mind. This is nothing new for me. I love shoes, and I’m prepared to pay for them. As someone who can make her own clothes, I can justify the expense of shoes more than I can garments. Quite simply I can make pretty much anything I could want, but shoes are not something I’ve learnt to make (I’d love to take a shoe design and construction course one-day).

What is most alarming about the shoes on my mind, is that one pair is a pair of Nike‘s. I’m not anti-Nike or anything, but I quite simply don’t count sports shoes as SHOES. Give me heels, funky boots, strappy sandals, peep-toes, sling-backs, mules or ballerinas any day. I like my shoes to make me feel beautiful and confident. For me sports shoes are for sport… nothing else.

I’ve recently discovered the Citadium store in Paris. It’s situated behind Galleries Lafayette, and Printemps and is a store that is more urban in feel. It contains more sports brands, and streetwear than any other store I’ve seen (so far) in Paris. I originally went there to look at the range of snowboard wear they had.

More recently I went to Citadium to take another look around with American Gal. I found loads of things I’d have liked for this holiday, but at another time when we aren’t buying Christmas gifts. When wandering past the Nike section, which is very much alive with colour this season, I found the afore mentioned shoes.

Photo Cred - Nike Silver High Tops

I’ve decided I need these for my more casual days, and concert going. I’d love to wear these with skinny jeans or leggings, racer back tanks, and arm-warmers. I don’t know if it’s the silver leather, the “disco” glitter-ball panels or the fact that they take me back to my childhood, that appeals to me the most. Back in the day we all had high tops (not nearly as cool as these) for school. Mine were black with hot pink panels and laces, and purple eyelets. They were SO in.

It’s just not like me at all to be lusting after a pair of Nike’s, but the truth is I’ve thought about them everyday since I’ve seen them. They’re hardly going to break the bank, they retail at about €90-95, but I think I discovered them too late to add them to my Christmas list.

What do you think?

~ by fashiondevotion on December 19, 2009.

5 Responses to “There Must Be Something Wrong With Me”

  1. Haha, those are the prettiest Nike sneakers I’ve ever seen!

  2. I am not a sneaker type person either, but those Nike’s are awesome! If you can’t stop thinking about them that’s a tell tale sign that they need to be purchased!!🙂

  3. I know how you feel! I’ve become obsessed with Nike Airs lately too, which is entirely out of character for me.

Leave a Reply

 
