Fabulous Fashion Films

While waiting for my next Five on Friday, and another post I am working on, I thought I’d make a small list of my favourite costume and fashion films. Here they are in no particular order.

Funny Face (1957) Directed by Stanley Donen – What could be better than the combination of Audrey Hepburn and Hubert De Givenchy? Not a lot. It’s made even better by the fact that it’s a musical (much to the frog’s dismay) and set in Paris. I love vintage/retro clothing, and Hepburn just brings it all to life. I didn’t see this film until I was about seventeen, and I wish I’d known of it earlier as it woul have been amoungst my childhood faves.

Titanic (1997) Directed by James Cameron – The costume designer Deborah L. Scott did an amazing job. I love Rose’s costume for the “Jack…I’m flying” scene, but I especially love that shot of Kate Winslet getting out of the car with that gorgeous picture hat. It’s probably my favourite part of the film. It’s wonderful to know that so many vintage and original garments were used in the production. The beading and embellishments make me giddy. We bought the Collectors Edition on DVD a few years back and I love the Special Features. Even as someone with wardrobe experience, there are things that I’d just not though about, but which when I watched the extras were so apparent.

The Devil Wears Prada (2006) Directed by David Frankel – My fave part is when Anne Hathaway’s character goes to the stock room at RUNWAY (it’s like my dream). The sequence where Andy becomes fashionable, and you see all the outfits, one after another, is fabulous (and done to my favourite song of all time Vogue by Madonna). I’m also still lusting after a pair of boots which appears in the opening credits. There aren’t too many modern films that focus so much on the clothing, and that in itself is a plus.

Breakfast at Tiffany’s (1961) Directed by Blake Edwards – Obviously, we all know and love the famous dress that opens the film. But I also adore the coat and hat Holly (Audrey Hepburn) wears on her day of firsts. In fact I like all the  hats and accessories Hepburn wears in the film. Breakfast at Tiffany’s also marked the start of the little black dress, so how could we not love it?

Moulin Rouge (2001)Directed by Baz Luhrmann – So much colour and detail! Catherine Martin together with Angus Strathie won an Oscar for the costumes in this film, and deservedly so. The mix of colours, layers and ruffles is spectacular to watch. The mix of these details with the music and speed of some of the dance numbers is absolutely hypnotic. Satines corsets, and the costume she wears when she enters the Moulin Rouge on the trapeze are beautifully designed and crafted. The tango dance sequence also showcases gorgeous lingerie of the period, but completely works for the style of dance.

Sabrina (1954) Directed by Billy Wilder – I’m sure by now, you have all seen what a fan of Audrey Hepburn I am. Surely being as stunning as she was goes a long way into making the costumes stand-out, but the clothes she wears in this film are so lovely. The Costume Designer was Edith Head, but with Givenchy as an uncredited Costume Designer. In fact it was working on this film that Givenchy and Hepburn first met. Givenchy was a young designer of twenty six at the time filming.

Thoroughly Modern Milly (1967) Directed by George Roy Hill – It’s fun and cute. I love the stylised twenties costumes. While the lead costumes are designed to be striking (mostly in the case of Julie Andrews as Millie) some of the background costumes are just beautiful. I love that it ever so subtly touches on the rapidly changing fashions of the time such as the flatter chests, shorter skirts and boyish hairstyles.

Sex and the City – The series and the film! What fashion lover hasn’t lusted after Carrie’s shoes and swooned over her wardrobe. There are too many outfits and pairs of shoes to count. Needless to say, Patricia Field is amazing.

Little Women (1994) Directed by Gillian Armstrong, Edward Scissorhands (1990) Directed by Tim Burton, Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street (2007) Directed by Tim Burton, Memoirs of a Geisha (2005) Directed by Rob Marshall, Chicago (2002) Directed by Rob Marshall, Sleepy Hollow (1999) Directed by Tim Burton – Colleen Atwood is costuming genius. She was the Costume Designer for all these films. She has really shown her diversity. She has covered a huge range of periods, covered ethic, and really created amazing looks for the films she has worked on. This is not a complete list of her films, but for me these are the films which stand out. For a complete list take a look at this. Memoirs of a Geisha is so beautifully put together, the Kimonos made were so detailed. The Special Features on the Blue Ray edition show just how much attention to detail was paid to each costume. The stylised look of Edward Scissorhands makes such a change from her more period contributions, yet her knowledge of period costume is immense. In Little Women she covers a decent chunk of the late 1800’s and the transmission through the changing silhouettes is faultless. I’m a fan to say the least.

I hope you liked the list. There are a load of other films and TV shows which I love the costumes on, but I’ll save them for another time.

~ by fashiondevotion on December 3, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
