The Simple Things

Years ago when I lived in Italy, there was a market every morning in the main piazza. It was mostly fruit and veg, cheeses, meats and homewares, however, one particular stall always drew my attention. The fabric stall. I would pass by it whenever I went to the market. It was filled with great quality Italian wools in winter and Italian linens in summer. The man and woman who owned it, were very friendly, and patient with my broken Italian, and I would buy off-cuts whenever we could spare the cash. One day I found this terrific piece of Chanel-esque wool, and I just had to have it.

I promptly made myself this jacket. I think it brings something to an otherwise simple outfit like this one. I love that I can lounge around the apartment in a nice, plain top and a comfy pair of jeans, then, throw on this jacket and I’m suddenly ready to go out.

Il y a plusieurs années, lorsque j’habitais en Italie, nous avions l’habitude de nous rendre sur le marché de la place principale de la ville. Il était composé essentiellement de fruits et légumes, fromages, viandes, ustensiles de cuisine, mais un marchand en particulier retenait toujours mon attention: le marchand de tissus. Je passais toujours le voir. Il avait toujours des laines Italiennes en hiver, des lins Italiens en été, et toujours de superbe qualité. La femme et l’homme a qui appartenait ce stand étaient très sympathiques et patient avec mon Italien assez basique. Je lui achetais des coupons lorsque nous avions un peu plus d’argent. Un jour j’ai trouvé ce superbe coupon de laine Chanel-esque: je le voulais absolument.

J’ai tout de suite réalisé cette veste. Je pense qu’elle ajoute quelque chose de différent à une tenue assez simple comme celle ci. J’adore être chez moi dans une tenue relax: un haut simple, une paire de jean confortable, puis j’ajoute cette veste et je suis prête à sortir.

Jacket/Veste – DIY

Top/Haut – Kookaï (Australia)

Jeans/Jean – Meltin’ Pot

Ballet Flats/Ballerines – Lola Cruz

Clutch/Sac – Country Road

~ by fashiondevotion on September 26, 2010.

57 Responses to “The Simple Things”

  1. Love your originals- this jacket is totally fab. More more more! :-)

  2. The simple things are the best! Great post and jacket =)

    http://in-my-boulevard.blogspot.com/

  3. that’s an incredible jacket and so cool that it’s custom made!

    http://style-haus.blogspot.com/

  4. Very Chanel-esque jacket!

    Love Grace.

  5. Hi!
    Thanks for your comment on my blog!!

    Your blog is very nice and your looks are gorgeous!

    This jacket is so lovely

    XX

  6. Love your blog and your style! Thank for commenting on my blog! :)

    Andrea

    http://andrejkyblog.blogspot.com

  7. You made the jacket youself? Wow! That’s amazing…how creative of you. Love it!

    http://www.fashion-feline.blogspot.com

  8. WOW, it completely transforms your outfit!
    amazzinngg that you can create such a versatile piece!
    very chanel :)
    love it!! and i also love this clutch that features in may of your photos <3

    thanks heaps for visiting!

    http://thinkdish.weebly.com/

  9. Great outfit!

    http://agitarsimonroe.blogspot.com

  10. That is indeed a lovely jacket. Chanel-inspired. I like the colour.

  11. I love the jacket!!! :)) Fabric is from L’Aquila, isn’t it??

  12. I loove the jacket!!! ;)
    xoxo

  13. I love how one item can transform an outfit, and jackets always do it
    I love this jacket so much as well, you are really talented

  14. Thanks for visiting! Love the jacket, very Chanel… I made one (actually several) that are sort of similar…

    http://stylewilderness.blogspot.com/2010/06/signature-style.html

    Life in Paris sounds great, I lived in Tokyo for 9 years and I miss it so much now that I’m back in Melbourne!

  15. Are you ready for the Fashion week???? So cool you lived in Paris!

    This fabric is amazing cute jacket! thanks for sharing x)

  16. Love this Chanel styled jacket!

  17. J’adore Ton Sac, Il Est Vraiment Super Beau.
    N’hesite Pas A Passer Sur Mon Blog & Me Dire Ce Que Tu En Penses ;)
    Bisous (l)

    http://melsblog.over-blog.fr

  18. Thank you for stopping by! :D I so envy you that you live in Paris! It’s my dream-city! That jacket is awesome, mainly because it’s made by you, it turned out great!

  19. Love your outfit. That jacket is gorgeous.xx

  20. I have a also a beautiful jacket like this, Chanel type and you are right, you can take a simple t-shirt, jeans and the jacket and is an amazing outfit!

  21. Such pretty photos, and the jacket looks great! I used to live in the South of France and also remember the markets in the morning, which were just amazing!

    xx

  22. Thanks for stopping by my blog….love your jacket and tweed shoes:)

  23. I love your jacket so much and it really adds to the outfit. I would definitely wear it. I can’t believe you made it, you must be very creative and talented. I also like the hair style. I wish I could do my hair like that but I can never get a bun right.

  24. Thank you so much for stopping by! This look is so chic, it reminds me of a ballerina on her day off.

  25. love your jacket!
    i just bumped into your blog! love it! keep going like this! :D
    xoxo
    K.

    http://kcomekarolina.blogspot.com/

  26. Ah, what talent! I wish I could make clothes. I love your jacket so much! You picked an amazing piece of fabric! It’s been fun looking through your blog, I can’t wait to see more of your creations and travels.

  27. Cute blog, thanks for stopping by! Im following you on bloglovin…looking forward to future post!
    xx

    http://hotpinkday.blogspot.com

  28. Love your little hand bag.

  29. Hi :D it’s my first time visiting your blog :)
    great pics and very nice outfits :)
    love this jacket and bag :)
    have a nice week!
    kisses
    DaisyLine from http://daisyline.blogspot.com/

  30. oh girl this jacket is amazing! YOU look amazing!

  31. Simple, but so chic! Good!
    I follow you and your looks on Bloglovin! And I hope read something about Paris :-)

    Amo ♥

    http://galleryamo.blogspot.com/

  32. Great outfit!

  33. This jacket is amazing can’t believe you made it!

    Emma
    TheSidewalkIsMyRunway

  34. great job you’ve done iwth the jacket. Looks very chic and chanel-ish!

  35. très sympa cette veste !
    j’adore ton histoire en Italie :)

  36. I love how you wore your hair here! The whole outfit is fabulous

  37. you are beautiful! i like this photos.

  38. I wouldn’t guessed that you made the jacket!!! Very classic! Beautiful! And I spy a fab necklace, too!

  39. I LOVE that jacket – it looks like you did a really beautiful job tailoring it! The fabrics in Europe are so fabulous – it makes me so jealous hearing you speak of buying fabric in a market stall!! That must have been awesome!

  40. I love your jacket and your hair is great too! Very chic look!

    http://thestyle-child.blogspot.com

  41. OMG Gorgeous! You did a great job! Can you make me one?

  42. awesome hair!
    you have such a fresh face…
    p.s we have the same name :)

    if you have the time visit our new blog!

    http://seventy2ndstreet.blogspot.com

  43. très jolie pochette! Tout de suite ça habille ta tenue!

  44. I literally almost shouted, “OMG CHANEL!” when I opened this up. I am amazed at your talent! I agree: it’s nice to have some piece that can transform an outfit. I love pieces like this to help go from day to night if there’s no time to swing home!

  45. Absolutely love your top knot bun thing. So cute paired with your outfit.

  46. Love your bag!

  47. Wow, I was scrolling frantically to find out where you got that jacket from and YO MADE IT!
    amazing girl.

    xStace
    TEE&FAME

  48. Did you live in Italy? Amazing! I always wanted to know there!
    Your blog is lovely and your style is pretty nice! Thank for commenting on my blog!
    Loved the jacket, the purse and this necklace!
    kisses

  49. WOW! I can’t believe you made that jacket…amazing!!! It’s absolutely gorgeous. Wish I was capable of doing something like that.

  50. Classic jacket! Great blog!

    xx

    November Grey

  51. Beautiful jacket and necklace :) Kisses, Camille

    http://lespetitesaffairesdecamille.blogspot.com

  52. love your blog! following you! you me 2?

    xx
    http://www.fashionrnbw.blogspot.com

  53. You have absolutely impeccable style. I absolutely love this whole ensemb!

    xoxo coco
    muffintopbaby.blogspot.com

  54. your style is absolutely amazing!!!

    love your choice of outfits!!

    feel free to visit/comment on my blog… http://www.thefacelessblog.com… and your welcome to follow me on google friends and bloglovin if u wish!

    wud love to noe what u think!

    keep in touch!
    xx

  55. love the clutch! it looks like a vintage

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

